sam & ella's

a unique take on life from some unique women

THIS IS SPARTA! (and by “Sparta” I mean “MC”…)

Sam & Ella's Contributor: MC*Reading a really thick and intimidating book, something by Dostoyevsky or someone else with too many consonants in their name, then looks up at you, half surprised*

Oh hey, I didn’t see you there. Welcome to the introduction of me, MC. My real name is Michelle, but there are just too many “Michelle”s in the world to keep track of, so I go by my initials. And no, I do not DJ. I did once have an opportunity to say “Hello, I’m MC, and I’ll be your ‘MC’ this evening” but I was so preoccupied by mastering the ceremony, that I forgot. And it’s been my only regret in life thus far (category: unrelated to alcohol).

In my few moments of spare time, I’m a minimalist musician (that’s the nice way of saying “I suck at playing instruments”). I have a few self-recording projects and  a YouTube channel where I try to adapt really bad pop songs on the ukulele, like Lady Gaga and Ricky Martin. I’m also a live-music junkie and spend all my money on concert tickets instead of paying my car insurance on time.

I live just outside Philly all by my lonesome, which is fine because it means I can binge-watch as much Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix as I want without anyone judging me. I work full-time for an outreach department, and part-time in a high school girl’s dorm, and I’m well aware I’m greedy holding onto 2 jobs. I drive a white PT Cruiser named Clyde. And my spirit animal is probably something like a raccoon or squirrel…some kinda rodent.

Most of what I write about is confusion about this state of life I keep hearing being referred to as “adulthood.” Like, when I do something grown-up, like buy a wreath to hang on my apartment door or candlesticks for my kitchen table, I freak out and need to eat a whole jar of maraschino cherries or something to balance it out. I think I’m getting the hang of it, the other day I reordered checks and didn’t laugh once at the fact that I actually have a checking account…

_______________________________________________

Follow me on Twitter @PedestrianLife

About MC

Your run of the mill hopeless 20-something from Philly discovering what it means to be adult, and what parts of that I can get away with not doing. Minimalist musician, sporadic writer, hazelnut latte junkie, and bubble bath aficionado.

Share your thoughts (but do it kindly!)

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2013 by in Contributors.
