sam & ella's

a unique take on life from some unique women

It’s Sheri!

los-angeles-postcard-oscars-academy-awards-beautiful-us-ecards-someecards

Hey Y’all! My name is Sheri Dawn Bradford (Demore if you’re nasty… or if you just want to use my other last name, your choice). I know the first question on your mind is “How do you pronounce your name” and honestly, I tell people just to go with whatever feels natural. If you want to call me Cheri, kind of like “My Cheri Amour” go for it! It makes my name sound all romantic and shit. If you want to pronounce it Shah-Reee, I say do it! I promise I won’t give you a dirty look (although some of my friends might, but screw ‘em. Who do they think they are judging you? Jerks). The reason why my name is so versatile is because sometime in kindergarten, a teacher made the mistake of telling me that the letters E and R makes an ‘errrrr’ sound, so for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why my parents called me something different. So I changed my name pronunciation. Because even then, as a 6-year-old kid, I was as hard- headed as they come.

As a kid, I moved around a lot because my dad was in the military. I joke and say that I was very much a Gypsie growing up (and if that’s offensive to anyone, I will gladly never call myself a Gypsie again. I didn’t know! Please love me). Since I was alone most of the time, due to the fact that I’m an only child, I would spend my days watching movies. And I’m not talking one or two movies a day. Oh no friends. Whenever I wasn’t surrounded by people (which was quite often) I would spend EVERY WAKING HOUR OF MY DAY watching movies. I’d wake up, and before even getting out of bed to brush my teeth or shower, I would pop in a movie. If ever I was running low on things to watch, I’d run to either my mom or my dad and I would beg and plead with them to take me to Blockbuster (all you children of the 90’s know what I’m talking about wink wink). If for some reason they couldn’t take me, I would go into full-blown breakdown mode, complete with shaking fits and crocodile tears. I think during my childhood, I went through 1 or 2 days where I wasn’t able to watch a movie, and I swear to you, that is the closest to drug withdrawal I ever want to be. Movies have always been my best friend, my one confident in this scary thing called life. I will defend cinema to the death, and I will do it proudly.

Which brings me to my current life. I’ve always wanted to move to LA, because this is the place where the movie magic happens. It so weird being here in the city I dreamed of living in since I was a little girl. I always imagined there would be bright lights and movie stars walking around every corner. Instead, I got dimmed lights and broken dreams that permeate the air like the smog LA is oddly popular for. Being in LA has been a struggle, a journey through darkness with little pockets of light. But I’m so happy that I’ve made it, and I’m happy that now I’m doing (or at least I’m trying to do) what I’ve always wanted to do.  My boss is awesome, for the first time in 4 years I don’t hate my job, and It’s almost summer time baby! So I want to show you all LA through my eyes (and there’s gonna be a lot of movie talk because I’m obsessed) so I hope you’re ready.  So go ahead, slip on your sunglasses, get that two piece bikini on, and meet down by the  blog beach. This is going to be awesome.

About Sheri

I love Movies, TV, and The Kardashians. I'm not ashamed of any of those things.

Share your thoughts (but do it kindly!)

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2013 by in Contributors.
